Elmwood Church has a rich history of gospel ministry in the Twin Cities. The congregation originally had its beginning when a small group of Scandinavians began to meet in northeast Minneapolis. By December of 1924, this group became a recognized Lutheran assembly. After a number of years the congregation moved to a small church on the corner of 26th and McKinley Street N.E.
In time Elmwood saw spiritual revival, an occurrence which our congregation still longs for today. There were all-night prayer meetings and multiple people feeling led to go abroad on mission. In 1965, the property on McKinley was sold and a new church was built on Chelmsford Road in St. Anthony Village. It was dedicated in November of the same year. During the revival days of the 1980’s, the congregation outgrew their facility and built a beautiful addition, including a spacious new sanctuary. As of 1994 Elmwood officially identified itself as a part of the Evangelical Free Church of America. In 2003, Pastor Fred Thoni began his pastorate at Elmwood.
In the most recent chapter of Elmwood’s history, members from Park Community Church and Centennial Church have come together with the current members of Elmwood to see the church revitalized. This revitalization was voted on with unanimous approval on October 28, 2018. Elmwood Church works to honor the legacy of faithful ministry that has happened time and time again through this body of believers, and desires to see people of all generations come under the Lordship of Jesus Christ.